Pay It Forward

I walked along the busy street, hustling from one errand to another. I stopped to answer a text when I heard my phone chime. As I set my bags down by the storefront window, I noticed an envelope propped against the glass. It had no writing on it, no postmarks. I looked around, expecting to see its owner nearby. Nada.

I reached for it, an inner debate waging in my mind. Its not yours. What if its important? What if its private? Well, it shouldn’t be out on the street then.

I snatched it up and opened it. A simple note:  Smile. You are beautiful. Pay it forward.

I laughed as I put the envelope back on its perch. Challenge accepted. I picked up my bags, ignored that text, and walked on with a new energy. I knew exactly where I needed to go and what I needed to do.

 

Day 5 prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply and you wish it could be returned to the person to which its addressed. Write a story about this encounter. Today’s twist: Be succinct. Use as few words as possible.

2 thoughts on “Pay It Forward

Talk to me...

