Introvert

Daily Post: Middle Seat

It turns out that your neighbor on the plane/bus/train (or the person sitting at the next table at the coffee shop) is a very, very chatty tourist. Do you try to switch seats, go for a non-committal brief small talk, or make this person your new best friend?

 

One word: Earbuds. The universal “do not disturb” sign.

shypeople-problems.tumblr.com2

I am an introvert. With a capital I. And bold font.

Its not that I dislike people. I actually really like people and often crave interaction. The problem is that I don’t know how to go about such interactions. I’m not antisocial. I am socially awkward. I am sensitive and care too much about what others think of me. I am hyperaware of myself. Social interactions are quite exhausting.

meetingpeopleiswork

I am actually a very friendly person, even if I don’t appear so. I will rarely initiate conversation with a stranger but if they approach me, I am open and accepting.

So I create a bubble around myself and withdraw. Earbuds are choice. Or a book. Or I lose myself in my phone (smartphones are a wonderful crutch for introverts, I don’t know how I lived without one).

No, I’m not being antisocial. I’m just introverting.

 

Talk to me...

