Happy Tears

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Happy Happy Joy Joy.

When was the last time I cried tears of joy? That’s an easy one. Today.

Today, I was sitting at my workspace and a coworker brought me a delivery. Flowers. I stared at them for a minute thinking “This has to be a mistake. They can’t possibly be for me.” But sure enough, they were.

My husband of 15 years hasn’t sent me flowers in at least 7 years. Its not his fault entirely. The last time he sent me a very expensive (and very beautiful) arrangement, I was annoyed that he had spent so much money.  I am a very practical soul.

But today he surprised me.  It is a beautiful vase of stargazer lilies – my favorite and the flowers that were used at our wedding.  The card simply said that 2015 was going to be a great year and he wanted to let me know how much he loved me and our girls.

I love my husband dearly but I will never pretend that he’s perfect or that we have the perfect marriage.  Perfection doesn’t exist in marriage.  We have our ups and downs.  I wouldn’t say lately that we’ve been “down” but I think we have been caught up lately in work and the busy life of being working parents.  This was a sweet gesture to remind me that he loves, cares and thinks about me. And did it make me cry a little? Sure did.

images (1)

4 thoughts on “Happy Tears

Talk to me...

