A Drop in the Ocean

3858223360_e57140dd23_z
Precious soul, you were but a whisper that only I could hear

yet you adorned the hopes and dreams
held secret in my heart

Tiny spirit, instead of sleeping in my arms
you dance in the warmth of the sun and wander among the stars
forever light and free

Gentle one, you were but a drop in the ocean to most
unseen, unheard
quickly forgotten

My child, to me you were a great wave
powerful and crashing
still echoing in my core

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

photo by Chris Luczkow

A/N: I wrote this about a pregnancy loss that I experienced years ago. It started out as an elegy, but as always happens, I take too long to get things written and I get behind in my assignments. I intended to keep up with the poetry class but I found I am spending way too much time trying to follow the rules – acrostic, elegy, ode, limerick, ballad, etc. – and spending less time actually writing. And I have precious little time for writing. I am so impressed by all of my friends who have done the course and I think studying those forms is important, but it is not something that I have time for at the moment. I will focus on expression and not on the format. Happy writing, everyone!

4 thoughts on “A Drop in the Ocean

Talk to me...

