Casual Fridays 4/10/15

jeans enhanced

It’s Friday! Time for the latest installment of Casual Fridays, my weekly chat post – no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.  And please also check out Casual Fridays over at Helen’s blog, Good Woman.

Let’s get random…

It has been an unsettling weather week here in the Midwest with severe storms nearly every day.  Consequently, it has been a rough week with my older daughter because she has storm anxiety.  She really panics, especially with tornadoes but even with thunderstorms.  It has also been a rough week for my younger daughter because the changing weather has played havoc with her sinuses/allergies.  We walk this tightrope of trying to find the perfect balance of meds and home remedies in an attempt to battle the cough and congestion.  Ah, spring.

Things may be moving again on the job front.  It is too early to say much but I have a potential opportunity.  Think good thoughts!  This comes at a good time for me because I have been feeling down lately and trying to figure out which way to go with my career.

At work, we are preparing for lab week which starts on 4/20 (by the way, I work in a genetics lab. I may write a post about that since I’ve had some people ask).  We LOVE lab week (Medical Laboratory Professionals Week).  We have daily potlucks/food bars, games, prizes, etc.  The scavenger hunt is the best.  My team won last year and we will be defending our title this year.  We are also having Olympic games this year which is a new event.  A bunch of science nerds doing olympic games… pure gold, folks.

I’m sharing another song this week.  Lifehouse, one of my favorite bands, has an upcoming album and they released a sneak peak of one of the new songs entitled Wish.  I have fallen in love with it so here it is…

 

Have a great week, everyone!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Casual Fridays 4/10/15

  1. You should definitely write a post about your job. I took biotechnology and I learned a lot about genetics, so that’s interesting to me. Also, lab week sounds like fun.

  2. Thinking good thoughts for you on this new job possibility. I recall the many years when I lived in the midwest when the threat of tornadoes was absolutely frightening. It seemed to happen a couple times every summer when we were ushered down to the basement of our homes to wait out the weather. And I have some issues with allergies in the spring but it is not too awful. I really feel for your daughter for her allergy suffering. Have a great week!

Talk to me...

