Casual Fridays 4/17/15

jeans enhanced

It’s Friday! Time for the latest installment of Casual Fridays, my weekly chat post – no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.  And please also check out Casual Fridays over at Helen’s blog, Good Woman.

Let’s get random…

It has been a tiring week. I’ve been getting up early, staying up way too late. Burning the candle at both ends, so to speak. It just leaves me burnt out and exhausted. I am hoping for a restful weekend.

Things are getting busy at my kids’ school, we are in the downward spiral to the end of the school year. Field trips, field days, spirit days, planning for summer camps and summer trips and swimming lessons. Keeping up with all of it makes me dizzy. But even so, this time of the year just makes everything feel… lighter. It is easier to deal with the chaos when you are drunk on sunlight and warm weather.

It is a beautiful day here in the STL. Our midwestern weather is often tumultuous, but once in a while we are blessed with a day like this.  Sunny, blue skies and 80 low-humidity degrees.

Redbox just informed me that my husband rented Exodus: Gods and Kings for tonight. I have The Fault in Our Stars on the dvr for tonight. Hmmm… quite the spectrum of entertainment. This is usually how our movie choices go. I guess I will be on a roller coaster of emotions this evening. So has anyone seen Exodus? Thoughts?

Lab Week is shaping up nicely for next week at work. We have a build your own waffle bar, a baked potato bar, snack day, potluck day (our potlucks are legendary) and it all ends on Friday with a catered lunch and dessert day. I will be lucky not to gain ten pounds next week. I also still need to write that post about my line of work. I will get to it. Promise.

For those of you that are parents… have you ever looked at your child and realized that some of the things that frustrate you about them are traits that are most like yourself? It is a very eye-opening moment. When I watch my daughter struggle with her indecisiveness – to the point of paralysis – and anxiety, I realize now what my husband has been dealing with for all of these years with me. The good news is that I walk that road (some might say meander) so I can help lead her down it. Or try. Or at least I can be empathetic. It makes me appreciate my husband as the rock and voice of reason that he is (did I just call him a voice of reason? Shhh, don’t tell him that). Some deep thoughts for this Friday…

Happy Friday, everyone and have a great weekend!

12 thoughts on “Casual Fridays 4/17/15

  1. I saw Exodus. They got a lot of facts wrong, but it’s Hollywood. When do they ever get things right? It’s entertaining otherwise if you look past the inaccuracies. The Fault in Our Stars was wonderful. It actually stayed loyal to the book. Sure, they changed some things, but nothing too major. You should read the book. Even my mom loved it, and she’s not exactly a YA fiction fan.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t want to jump on the The Fault in Our Stars bandwagon, but I gave in. It’s different from all the other love stories. It’s not so clichéd. It’s just heartbreaking.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha Joseph watched the fault in our stars the last time he was in SA, he sent me a text telling me to watch it or read it or both lol. It’s on my Kindle. I’m suprised he even watched it. We haven’t seen exodus.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...

