Casual Fridays 4/24/15

jeans enhanced

It’s Friday! Time for the latest installment of Casual Fridays, my weekly chat post – no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.  And please also check out Casual Fridays over at Helen’s blog, Good Woman.

Let’s get random…

It has been a great week here. This is evidenced by the fact that I am currently writing from sugar-induced haze. Lab Week has unfortunately come to an end, but it was very successful. We have been gorging ourselves on food all week and playing games and just having a great time with our colleagues. However, it has been extremely hard to come close to being productive this week.

The highlights of lab week – besides food – have been the scavenger hunt and the olympics. My team came in second in the hunt this year but it was still great fun. Fifteen clues and dashing all over the building – glorious. The olympics were a blast. I don’t think I’ve laughed that hard in a long time. Some of the games were chopstick races, transferring m&m’s from one plate to another with a straw, bouncing balls out of a tissue box strapped to your back and stacking dice on a tongue depressor sticking out of your mouth. The only thing missing this week was nap time, which we all need after stuffing our bellies full of good food.

I am currently eating gooey butter cake. If you have never had this, google and find it immediately. It is life changing.

My older daughter auditioned for band this week. She starts next year in 6th grade. I am so excited for her because I was a band geek and band totally transformed my social circle in high school. I made some of my best friends there. She wasn’t too excited at first (which kind of broke my heart) but she came home from auditions bouncing off the walls. She did very well, receiving high praise from her future director. She did well on both flute and clarinet so she got to choose. She chose flute, which is also what I played. She is now super excited to start in the fall.

This is a short entry this week. I have to get back to trying to be productive. I’m also trying to get my flash fiction piece done for the week.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

4 thoughts on “Casual Fridays 4/24/15

Talk to me...

