Casual Fridays 5/8/15

jeans enhanced

It’s Friday! Time for the latest installment of Casual Fridays, my weekly chat post – no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.  And please also check out Casual Fridays over at Helen’s blog, Good Woman.

Let’s get random…

Ah, what a week. I took Monday and Tuesday off of work to rest my back. My trips to the chiropractor have been successful and I am feeling much better. I still have some residual pain (very minor) and stiffness with certain movements but I am nearly back to baseline. And I’m 41, so there was some pain and stiffness at baseline.

On Wednesday, I accompanied my six year-old, Caitlin (she seems to have dropped “Cate”), on her first grade field trip. We went to the Museum of Transportation in St. Louis. The kids loved it, there were lots of really old trains and a showroom of vintage cars. There was a lot of walking and it was pretty warm, so the parents had a hard time keeping up with the kiddos. Nothing quite compares to the exuberance of an elementary schooler on a field trip. Caitlin was so excited about the trip and about the fact that I was coming along. I treasure these times with her. Afterwards, we had about an hour drive home. She requested country music (a sort of odd request coming from her) so I streamed some on Milk Music and about twenty minutes later she fell asleep.

It has been quite warm here in eastern Missouri – mid to upper 80’s all week with lots of sun. Of course, people start complaining. I have never understood this. We haven’t even gotten our suffocating humidity yet. And it wasn’t that long ago that we were complaining about cold and snow and ice. This is actually the NICE weather before the crazy summer heat and humidity kick in.

The STL Cardinals are on fire right now with the best record in MLB. If you know anything about St. Louis, you know how much we love our Cards. We are a happy city right now.

A short (maybe) plug… I don’t listen to country music all the time but my new favorite artist is James David Carter. He was on season 7 of The Voice (team Blake). He has an amazing voice and he has been working hard for years to build a country music career. Search him on youtube and you will find tons of videos – mostly of covers but also a few original songs. He is releasing a full-length album on May 26. It is independent so he does not have a major label doing promo for him. Please give him a listen and if you like what you hear, support him by buying his album May 26 on itunes or amazon.

And lastly, I want to wish a wonderful Mother’s Day to all of the moms out there. Whether your kids are still baking, little or fully grown adults, being a mom is hard work but one of the most rewarding things we can do on this earth. So spend some time with your favorite mom this weekend and tell her how much she means to you. My mom and I had some rough times when I was younger, but I can truly say now that she is my best friend. I am blessed to have her in my life.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Casual Fridays 5/8/15

  1. I am glad to know your back is feeling better. I remember when my daughter was the age when I could get involved in her school activities. I am glad you are taking advantage of them because those times pass way too quickly. I am not ready for 80 degree weather. We have had a day or so like that but so far we have been having a remarkably cool–and wonderful–spring. I am one of those who complains when the weather is too hot, mostly because I just do not feel good then. I am a country music fan but am not too familiar with contemporary singers but I did watch this Youtube video. He is good! Happy mother’s day to you.

    1. The time does pass way too quickly. I always try to at least go in field trips and to the Christmas program. Your spring sounds nice. It has been pretty mild here too until the last week or so. I do complain in the summer because I don’t like the humidity. I listen to country music sporadically and I am more familiar with classic country than contemporary stuff. I just love his voice.

Talk to me...

