Let the music play

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “On the Edge.”

We all have things we need to do to keep an even keel — blogging, exercising, reading, cooking. What’s yours?

244857743_6b2219456c_b

Keeping myself on an even keel is not an easy task. I wish I could say that exercise does it for me. At my age and with my aching back, exercise is no longer fun. My husband and kids probably wish cooking was my vice. Alas, it is not. I used to be a voracious reader. I don’t read as much as I used to or as much as I’d like to. I would say reading is my #2.

I have to have my daily dose of music to stay sane. I stream music during my commute (which is over 2 hours total). Depending on what tasks I am doing at work, I may be (and often am) listening to music through my ear buds most of the day. I am known to plug in while I am doing housework. And my favorite is dance nights in the playroom with my girls. We stream music through the computer, turn it up loud and just dance it out.

I am a streaming junkie. It started with Pandora. I also love spotify and slacker. On my phone, there’s also Milk. These are so addictive because there are tons of stations to choose from (and flit between) OR you can customize your own station. Thousands (tens of thousands?) of songs at my fingertips? Yes, please.

My playlist is diverse. There’s pop, rock, country, alternative. There’s oldies and newbies. Every song on my playlist is there because it speaks to me in some way. Being a writer, I am drawn to lyrics. So most are songs that I particularly connect to the lyrics for one reason or another. My new favorite is Photograph by Ed Sheeran. So beautiful. I also love to rock out so there are some songs that I just love the catchy beat.

Music influences my writing. It lifts me up. It makes me think. It can reflect my mood or it can change my mood. A day without music would be like a day trapped in a windowless room devoid of sensory input. I would probably freak out.

What keeps you on an even keel?

photo credit: Thomas Hawk – flickr

3 thoughts on “Let the music play

  1. Music with kids is really one of the true joys of life, isn’t it? I love watching them find their own joys in music, lyrics and movement.

    (Also, I’m super impressed with how you said. “Being a writer, I am drawn to lyrics.”)

    What keeps me on even keel? #1 Solitude; #2 Exercise; #3 Reading.

    Like

    1. Ah, solitude is a good one. A definite necessity.

      I’m getting better at calling myself a writer 😉

      Yes I love to watch my kids discover and experience music. My older daughter starts band next school year and I am just as excited as she is.

      Like

Talk to me...

