Casual Fridays 6/19/15

jeans enhanced

It’s Friday! That means it is time for the latest installment of Casual Fridays, my weekly chat post – no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.  And please also check out Casual Fridays over at Helen’s blog, Good Woman.

Let’s get random…

First, my thoughts and prayers are with all of those affected by the shooting in Charleston, South Carolina. Senseless tragedies like this always break my heart. I just can’t imagine what the victims’ families are going through. I went to grad school in SC and spent a lot of time in Charleston for both personal and professional reasons. It is a wonderful, beautiful city full of diversity and history. I send all of my love to the people of Charleston as they heal and move forward from this terrible incident.

My big news for the week is that I got a new job! I am going to stay at the same university but move back to the OB/GYN department as a clinical genetic counselor (read more here). I worked at that same position for six years before it was eliminated (budget reasons) in 2011. I have been in the genetics lab since. I was a little hesitant to go back to this OB position, given what happened in the past. However, it is a good move for me professionally. I have a lot of experience and training in clinical counseling and that is where my heart is. I am excited to get back to serving patients. There have also been staffing changes in OB that make me believe that there will be a more positive environment. Most of my old coworkers are still there so I am hoping for a smooth transition. I will be starting there right after the 4th of July holiday.

I just officially accepted the position yesterday. I had to give my notice at my current position, which was stressful. My supervisor was so kind and understanding. The rest of the day was spent fielding a flurry of emails about my offer and various transfer details that I must take care of.

This morning I had to perform a drug test. It was a hair drug test. I have never done that before. A lab worker actually sectioned my hair and pinned it up on my head like a hairdresser. Then she snipped off little clumps from the underneath. I have a lot of hair but it makes me wonder how they perform this test on people with very short hair!

I am not sure how my new job will affect my writing time (which is quite limited as it is). My daily schedule won’t change much except for getting to work earlier and leaving earlier. I still have a long commute and my evenings will still be devoted to my kids. There just aren’t enough hours in the day!

That’s all of the news for me this week. Have a good Friday, everyone, and a great weekend!

5 thoughts on “Casual Fridays 6/19/15

  1. Congratulations on your new job. So exciting to be back working with people rather than being in the lab. May this job last longer than you need it to! I do not envy your long commute but I myself would like the earlier hours. I love having as much time as possible in the evenings.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...

