Casual Fridays 7/3/2015

jeans enhanced

It’s Friday! That means it is time for the latest installment of Casual Fridays, my weekly chat post – no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.  And please also check out Casual Fridays over at Helen’s blog, Good Woman.

Let’s get random…

It has been an emotional week for me. It was my last week working at the lab. Having been there for four years, I got quite comfortable and made wonderful friendships. Even though I am excited about my new job, it was hard to leave. My farewell party was Wednesday but I spent the whole week saying goodbyes and preparing for the separation.

I also spent the week preparing for my new role in the clinical realm, perusing medical literature to update myself on new prenatal tests and planning out my counseling techniques. Old dogs can, in fact, learn new tricks.

Since tomorrow is the 4th of July, today was a work holiday. It was a dry, sunny day – one of our first in a while. My husband worked so I spent the day with my daughters. This is always a treat. They have hit that point of the summer where they are using the dreaded “B word”…. bored. Swim lessons are over, they miss their school friends, the novelty of summer is wearing off. Today we had some outdoor time, some creative time and some reading time. Reading time is my favorite.

My eleven year-old daughter is anxiously awaiting the release of the next (and last, I believe) book in The Land of Stories series (by Chris Colfer) on July 7. She is completely captivated by these books and it warms my heart to see that.

Both of my daughters are anxiously awaiting the release of the Minions movie. Confession: so am I.

I want to wish everyone a fun and safe 4th of July weekend. Be especially careful if you use fireworks at home with your children. Also, please be mindful of your furry family members. More pets go missing on July 4th than any other day of the year because they are scared of fireworks.

Have a great week!

11 thoughts on “Casual Fridays 7/3/2015

  1. Such a time of transition for you. I sure hope your new job works out well for you. I know you are going back to what you love doing so I am optimistic for you. Your daughter’s waiting for new books to come out reminds me of my daughter when Harry Potter books were being published and when the Harry Potter movies were being released. She could not wait to get each one. The important thing to me is the love of reading which clearly our children share with us.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My husband used to say, “You’re never alone when you have a good book.” That is true but I am more likely to say, “Let me be alone so I can enjoy that good book.”

        Hoping you enjoy your weekend and then your new job.

        Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...

