Casual Fridays 7/17/15

jeans enhanced

Happy Sunday! That means it is time for the latest installment of Casual Fridays (Sunday morning edition), my weekly chat post – no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.  And please also check out Casual Fridays over at Helen’s blog, Good Woman.

Let’s get random…

So instead of getting closer to Friday this week, I actually got farther away… it’s Sunday morning. Fail. I debated whether I should post at all but I thought if I skipped the post altogether it would be an even bigger fail. Then I wondered if I should change the name – after all, it is no longer Casual Friday if I am posting on Sunday. But then I decided better late than never. And it’s my blog anyway so I can do what I want. Even if it doesn’t make sense to anyone else.

My job continues to suck my energy like a leech, but things are getting better. I think. By the end of the week, things felt like they were settling a bit. I didn’t feel quite so frazzled. I have a lot of patients next week but I have Wednesday blocked for office time so that is the beacon of hope to which I am clinging. I’m determined that next week will be a better week.

Yesterday was my younger daughter’s birthday. Seven years old. My memories of that day in 2008 are still clear and vivid. It’s hard to believe seven years have passed. Caitlin is my sweet, impish little sprite – a ball of energy and light that just goes at life full force.  She says things on a daily basis that make me laugh and warm my heart (or sometimes scare me, as I feel like the teenage years with that one are going to be a challenge). I am constantly reminding myself to learn from her and see the world the way she sees it. So a day celebrating her is always a good day.  And she did have a good day, full of love and presents and cake and ice cream.

We did something really fun this past week – a sleepover at our local zoo with both scout troops. Between the kids and parents, we had 30 people. Being an animal lover, the zoo has always been one of my favorite places. And it’s a favorite of my girls, too. There were activities for the kids through the evening and then we did a hike through the zoo after dark. It is such a pleasant place after the crowds clear out. We took a flashlight tour of the herpetarium (the reptile house). We slept outside under the stars. The only bad part of this was that it was crazy hot and humid – but after about 1am, the humidity broke and it was comfortable. It was pretty amazing gazing at the stars and listening to the sea lions bark and the lions roar. We were up by 6am and had breakfast. Then we took a morning walk through the zoo and got to pet the stingrays. It really was one of those once-in-a-lifetime experiences that I know both my girls and I will always remember.

Before the night hike, we were sitting on a balcony over a lake doing a frog watch. Basically, the guides played various frog sounds for us and then we all went silent and just listened to the sounds of nature. I sat back in my chair and looked up at the sky, lost in the vastness of it. It was mid-evening and with the humid haze there weren’t many stars out yet. But I saw one and I focused on it. Wrapped up in the sounds of the frogs and birds and insects, I had a conversation with that star in my heart, trying to glean its wisdom. I felt connected to the universe and my soul felt full. I was so thankful for that moment of peace and clarity. I have thought about that moment often during my busy week.

Well, I have to get on with my Sunday. Cleaning and laundry, so exciting. I am also going to take my girls to see Minions this afternoon. Have a wonderful weekend and upcoming week, everyone!

9 thoughts on “Casual Fridays 7/17/15

  1. The zoo trip sounds amazing, lucky ducks! Love the description of your peaceful moment with the stars. There is something so awe inspiring about looking out into the night sky and realizing that we are mere specks in the universe. It makes you feel small but powerful, because while we are a just a tiny part of something much bigger, we are in charge of our lives and space.

  2. I agree with Violet.The sleepover at the zoo sounds wonderful! I wish I could do that. Enjoy your daughter while she’s still young! Time flies by and doesn’t stop for anyone. Enjoy your trip to the movies!

  3. Okay. Now I’ve read the post and have to say I had one of those moments last night too. Maybe there was a calm in the universe recently. What a fun night with your girls! I love that you took time to do that even with the craziness in your life right now. Good work momma!

    1. That night and morning with my girls was certainly a haven from the work chaos. I’m so glad I was able to do it. I love that you had a similar moment. Maybe the universe has been speaking to us lately 🙂

  4. I was wondering where the sat morning edition was, but the sunday morning edition is even better cause we hear about you weekend too before it’s lost in the more recent memory of the working week. You do a lot of fun things with your girls! Geo Caching is still on my list of things to look into (or just do)- I think I stopped short of creating an account last time it came to mind. Have a great week, hope it is an easier one! 🙂

Talk to me...

