Casual Fridays/Weekend Rewind 9/6/15

jeans enhanced

Happy Sunday! That means it is time for the latest installment of Casual Fridays (Sunday edition), my weekly chat post – no structure, no rules, no prompts, anything goes.

Let’s get random…

It is another glorious lazy Sunday morning in my house. My husband is at work and my kids are currently in the playroom doing blind taste tests. With an actual blindfold. I am listening to my James David Carter youtube channel and all is right with the world.

It is Labor Day weekend which means I have a three-day weekend and I am beyond grateful. I have another vacation day the following week so that means I will have a four-day workweek two weeks in a row. It seriously couldn’t come at a better time. I actually brought work home this weekend and spent a large chunk of time doing that yesterday. I worked on my laptop while I watched Big Hero 6 with my kids. I worked on my laptop while the kids played around me. Then I worked on my laptop after the kids went to bed.

I had a meeting at work this past week regarding a presentation that I am giving at the end of the month. Luckily the presentation is a joint effort between myself and two physicians. I sat in this meeting and had an epiphany. I watched one of the physicians get so excited about the material we were covering. He actually said “I am really excited about this” several times. And I realized that I couldn’t care less. I was going through the motions. I have lost my fire. I think I am actually about a millimeter away from falling into the cavern of burnout. I’m not sure if this is why I have lost my passion or if it is more a matter of age and increasing disillusionment. Whatever the reason, it is a scary place to be. Its not like I can just walk away.  I have obligations, responsibilities to consider. So my mind has been busy analyzing all of the angles and thinking about a plan.

Enough of that mess. I will brag on my kids for a minute. I spoke to my sixth-grader’s reading teacher this week. I had called with a simple question but I got more than the simple answer that I sought. She told me that my daughter was the sweetest, kindest girl and that she was truly a delight to teach. She gushed about her. This is not new, I have heard this from many of her teachers. But as a parent, it never gets old. It touches my heart every time. My daughter loves reading class and reads way above her age level, but I am more proud of the fact that she is kind and respectful.

My second grader – the feisty and fabulous Caitlin – has been working hard at toning down the “socializing” during class. I know it is difficult for her so I am proud of her. That girl is creative, she is always coming up with elaborate and impressive stories. I see a future writer in her and it excites me. I feed it as much as possible, playing story and word games. She is going to be a force.

This weekend is hot and humid but next week promises to be cooler and more autumnal. The hot cocoa-drinking and sweater-wearing girl inside of me rejoices. During my drive home the other day I noticed a faint hint – oh so slight – of color change in the trees. It is barely there, but it is coming.

Have a great weekend and upcoming week, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Casual Fridays/Weekend Rewind 9/6/15

Talk to me...

