Happy Veteran’s Day

18680930513_bfc019d6df_z

I want to wish a happy Veteran’s Day to all of those who have bravely served our country. It takes a special person to sacrifice for total strangers all in the name of serving the greater good.

I don’t get Veteran’s Day off work as a holiday but I take it off every year as a vacation day. My little town has a parade that my girls participate in as scouts. We march to the town square and stand on the courthouse lawn and listen to speeches from the various Veteran’s organizations. There is a gun salute to the fallen soldiers and the playing of Taps. It is extremely important to me to have my girls participate in this. They have to learn that freedom comes with a price and we must respect and honor those who have paid it.

So…

Thank you to my dad, grandfather and uncle.

Thank you to my father-in-law.

Thank you to my cousin who is current active duty.

Thank you to all of my ROTC college friends who have made military careers.

Thank you to the countless men and women who I will never know personally but who fight for me all the same.

Thank you to the POW’s and MIA’s.

Thank you to all those who are no longer with us.

I salute you all.

5 thoughts on “Happy Veteran’s Day

  1. I enjoyed this post. As someone from a big military family, I truly appreciate you teaching your children to honor our service men and women. I see you, too, come from a big military family. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Talk to me...

