Weekend Rewind 12/6/15

weekendrewindrevised

Weekend Rewind is  my weekly casual post to chat and catch up. No prompts, no rules – anything goes. I did not get around to posting yesterday so we are doing a little Weekend Rewind -Monday style.

This is the time of the year where I feel like we are hurtling into the holiday season like a runaway train. Happy Hanukkah to my friends that celebrate that holiday. Christmas is only 18 days away, as my kids like to remind me every five minutes (and we have several countdown calendars in various places in the house).

We did get our Christmas tree up this weekend. We have a 6.5-foot pre-lit tree. I really love that tree, it has such a beautiful shape even after years of being put up, fluffed and then crammed back into a box for 11 months. I love to pull out the boxes of ornaments every year and let the memories wash over me. I love watching the kids beam with pride as they place their ornaments just so after hunting for that perfect branch. Guess who else loves our Christmas tree?

img_20151206_145936.jpg

Yep… our cat, Gracie. She climbs it and lays in the middle of it. That’s another reason why I love that tree: it supports her weight and with all of the climbing that she does, it has never fallen over (though she has made it shake questionably a few times). I usually come home every day to find an ornament or two on the floor, victims of her heartless batting. Luckily, they hit carpet and don’t break. Funniest thing ever: our dog, Rusty, sniffing a branch and then a sneaky black paw comes out of the middle of the tree and swats him on the nose. Gracie: Christmas-tree-ninja-cat.

We have also reached St. Nick’s day, which is the day in our house when Jingles (our Elf on the Shelf) returns for the season with a little gift from Santa. I, like many parents, don’t really like the Elf tradition and most days I regret even starting it.  What was I thinking all of those years ago? You have to move the elf every night or make up pathetic excuses to your children as to why your lazy elf didn’t move (children who, I might add, may have a future with the CIA given how closely they scrutinize the elf’s movements). I have pinned creative Elf ideas on Pinterest but at the end of the day, in a haze of exhaustion, I usually just put him in boring and predictable places (leading to feelings of Elf-inadequacy). My kids love Jingles, though, which is why he keeps returning. I am thinking about starting a new tradition next year -the Kindness Elves. I need to do more research on these, though, because they may wind up being more work than Jingles – but they teach a better lesson (and that’s what it’s really about, right?).

In other news, we have the respiratory cruddiness in our house. My younger daughter and I have been congested and have sinus pressure/headaches. ‘Tis the season, I guess.

I got some good news in the mail finally. I got the notice that my GAP insurance paid off the remainder of our car loan (when the car was declared a total loss our insurance settled right away but the remainder of the loan was about $5K). This was the last lingering piece of the accident so I am so relieved to have it taken care of.

After posting every day in November, I am enjoying the freedom of December – perhaps too much. This is my first December post. I wish I could say that I am finding the time to write. I will try, though.

Have a great week, everyone!

 

 

One thought on “Weekend Rewind 12/6/15

Talk to me...

