Weekend Coffee Share 4/10/16

21814969688_1b1d6116a5_z

In lieu of Weekend Rewind, I thought I would try to join the Weekend Coffee Share (hosted by Part Time Monster). The point is to write a post as if I were chatting with a friend over a cup of coffee (each paragraph starting with “If we were having coffee…”). I feel this is similar to Weekend Rewind (random, chat format) with the added cozy atmosphere of a more intimate conversation. I am also excited about joining the Weekend Coffee Share community and meeting some new blogger friends. Pull up a chair and grab a cup of Joe (or whatever beverage you prefer) and join me.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you how much I’ve missed you. I have not been around the blogosphere much lately. There are many reasons for that, mostly the same reasons that have kept me away in the past. I would also thank you for meeting me so late. I had intended to meet this morning but life got in the way as usual. I even debated skipping the coffee date altogether but I have done so much of that lately. Pity, party of one? No, thanks.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have had a lot on my mind lately. Actually, I have had something sitting quite heavily on my heart – but I wouldn’t want to burden you with it and I most certainly wouldn’t want to cry and make you uncomfortable. So I would likely tell you how distracted and busy I have been. How life has been stressful. How I haven’t felt exactly like myself.

If we were having coffee, I would lighten the mood and talk about my kids. My two girls are the lights that chase the shadows from my world. They are nearing the end of the school year, I can’t believe how fast time goes. The older one has been keeping herself busy lately with all kinds of crafts and projects. The younger one is pure energy, I wish I could harness some of it. She is the perfect blend of sugar and spice, sweet with a generous ornery streak.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you about the camping trip in two weeks. We are taking both girls’ scout troops. They are so excited. This is our second campout with these girls and we are doing two nights this time. You might call me crazy… and you just might be right.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I am excited for the return of baseball season. We would commiserate about the Cardinals. They had a dismal opening series against the Pirates, losing all three games. Then their bats came alive and they swept the Braves in their next three-game series. We love our Cards and we are used to their ups and downs. Go Cards!

If we were having coffee, we would have a long chat about the Walking Dead finale. It was so intense and, truth be told, a little traumatizing at the end. I can’t decide if the producers are geniuses or scoundrels for cliff-hanging us like that. I have read so many fan theories about who was killed. I would be lively and animated as we talked through all of the possibilities. October can’t come soon enough.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that (and I’m probably late to the party on this one) Keebler grasshoppers are just like girl scout thin mints! I have no idea why it took me so long to realize this. I am so happy that I can get my favorite all year long!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you how I have “NO” by Meghan Trainor stuck in my head. I love that song!

What would you want to tell me if we were having coffee?

9 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share 4/10/16

  1. Hello! Loved your sunny words, sharing your days, and the spirit of your girls! I too, have two daughters, (and three sons) all grown now…and they are my world..lightness to lift my world. One is too far away, dancing in NYC, while I am in CO.
    I also am a TWD fan, and feel the same conflict of emotion over the finale! In fact, I couldn’t watch it till the next day…being completely in anxiety and dread mode. While I am eager for Oct, I also worry…who will it be? What is next? …I am hooked.
    I write, and struggle, and adapt…and hope to catch more of your coffee dates…
    HPen~

    1. Hi! Dancing in NYC! You must be so proud.

      I was so anxious to watch TWD finale. I had a pit in my stomach the whole time ( and I don’t think I took a breath in those terrible last 15 minutes). I love it so much, though.

      See you next coffee date!

      1. Proud and inspired! I feel like such a coward compared to her. Oh, I know~ TWD..oh, my..it still makes me tremble a bit to think of those last minutes..I don’t want to lose any of them! Who do YOU think it is? 🙂

  2. If we were having coffee I’d give you a hug because you’ve been gone so long and then lecture you so you don’t go missing again for so long. Then I’d go on to ask you pointed questions about why your heart is so heavy, because who doesn’t like a little teary salt water in their coffee? Finally we’d lament about our lack of writing time and get angry with each other for being so hard on ourselves.

    If we were having coffee I’d make a date to have coffee again soon!

Talk to me...

