If We Were Having Coffee… 7/31


If we were having coffee today, the last day of July and the last day of my vacation (on the eve of the day I have to return to the place that shall not be named), I would not speak of my sadness regarding the last few hours of freedom. I would not. I have had a great week. I have slept in. I have spent time with my kids. I have been available for them, able to chauffeur them to activities, relax with them and just enjoy them. The value of this is indescribable.

They have two weeks of summer left, but the girls are ready for school. Well, new shoes, clothes and supplies have been bought. The girls aren’t actually ready  to go back. They are holding onto the last drops of summer with a death grip. They have gotten used to staying up late and sleeping in so we need to start the awkward dance of getting them back on a bedtime routine (which should be as fun as a root canal).

At this point I would turn the conversation over to you. I would try not to think about rejoining the daily grind tomorrow as I listened to you, escaping into your stories.

So, catch me up. What would you tell me if we were having coffee?

Thanks to Part Time Monster for hosting Weekend Coffee Share. Join in by creating your own coffee share post with the tag weekendcoffeeshare and/or add to the linkup here.

14 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… 7/31

  1. Sorry vacation is over. I am in the same boat as you in getting the kids back into a routine for school. Getting to bed earlier is the hardest. My youngest starts on Wednesday and my oldest still has a week-and-a-half left. Once school actually starts, going to bed isn’t very hard for them because they are TIRED. Hope it goes well for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So happy you had the chance to take the time off. I’m sure the girls were so happy to have a week of you being off.

    If we were having coffee I’d tell you that it sucks your week away from work went by so quickly and since you’re trying to ignore having to go back I’d distract you by telling you I was freaking out a little about my new schedule after being home for the 99% majority of the last 15 years. I don’t remember how to have a full time schedule lol. These first few weeks will be quite the change ha!

    I’d also try to distract you by showing you some chicken pictures. Maybe I’d tell you about the stupid things our dogs do. You know me- I’m that weirdo that talks about her animals. A. LOT.

    I’d tell you that I feel ya on the kids going back to school. I’m not super excited about the kids getting back into a routine with their schoolwork- I enjoy the laid back approach of do schoolwork whenever- but alas this year we are determined to stay focused (famous last words.)

    Ok this comment has gotten really long- the coffee shop is trying to close up for the day and is shooing us out. I hope your week goes well.

    -Violet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love your dog and chicken stories! Always a great distraction. I would tell you how proud I am of you for following your heart and opening the shop. I know it will be an adjustment going back to that type of schedule but I believe that you will do great. Good luck tomorrow!

      Like

  3. Same situation here!! First day of work after a nice holiday today and I couldn’t sleep. I don’t think anyone would care what time I show up as long as I do but still I was already nervous that I would sleep past the alarm. Silly isn’t it. School starts for my son in two weeks too, I am dreading trying to get him to bed early…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If we were having coffee I’d expect you to berate me for being such a negligent friend! It’s nice to read your posts again. I’ve missed the blogging world this past month! I hope your girls’ back to school has been easier than my kiddos!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...

