If We Were Having Coffee… 9/4/16

21814969688_1b1d6116a5_z

Ah, hello old friend! It is so nice to see you! I hate that life gets in the way of our coffee dates. It has been way too long. What has been going on in your life?

We have just been dealing with the everyday brand of busy in my house… work, school, girl scouts, etc. Back to school has went fairly smoothly and both girls are liking it so far this year. We are starting our scout year for both troops. The older troop is beginning their Silver Award and we are growing our younger troop. Work is the same old, same old and is really not even worth talking about. As often happens, I have been very busy and distracted and have neglected my blog. I work on my writing projects when I can – often fleshing out stories and characters during my commute time – but have little time for blog writing.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have enrolled in a low back pain study at the university where I work. I went for a “lab” appointment to determine my eligibility. I answered a bunch of questions about my pain and activity and met with a physical therapist. She put me through positions and movements and got more information about my pain. Then I did the official “movement” part of the lab. That was where things got interesting. I was in a sports bra and lycra shorts while the study coordinators strapped little reflector thingies all over my body. They had to measure and get them in just the right place. Then I was in a room with special cameras that would interact with the reflectors. As I performed specific movements, the cameras would capture images and transmit them to a computer. I watched the “digital me” on the screen, a representation of the lines between the reflectors that showed how I bend and twist through the movements. Very high tech.

Now I have six weeks of physical therapy in which they will retrain my body in how to move to avoid pain. I have to do the lab test twice more in the next year. I am already feeling better after just one therapy session. I have learned some valuable tools and I am feeling hopeful.

If we were having coffee, I would also tell you that I am very excited for my business trip at the end of the month. It is a medical genetics conference in Seattle. I have never been to Seattle and I can’t wait to get there. I am going with one of my very best friends from grad school and beyond. We love to travel together to these conferences. It is our time to get away without kids and husbands and catch up and have fun together. We even get to fly in and out together as we could sync up in the connecting cities. T minus 24 days and counting!

Our new kitten, Charlie, is doing well. She has grown so much! Gracie tolerates her well and they do get along – except when Charlie is being really hyperactive. I had forgotten how having a kitten in the house is much like having a toddler in the house!

So, catch me up on your week(s). What would you tell me if we were having coffee?

Thanks to Part Time Monster for hosting Weekend Coffee Share. Join in by creating your own coffee share post with the tag weekendcoffeeshare and/or add to the linkup here.

8 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… 9/4/16

  1. Yay! Coffee time again! I’m drinking a cold, too strong cup right now… Just added another packet of sugar. It’s a bit better.

    Glad to hear Charlie is getting settled in. And hey at least Gracie is accepting her presence now!

    So happy that you are feeling results from your pt already!

    1. Sugar always makes it better 😉

      I’m amazed at the PT results already. But we worked on three basic things: sitting, standing and bending… So things that I am doing all day long! Small changes really make a difference. Makes me wish I knew these things a long time ago.

  2. Kittens are fun to watch them learn about items. They do take work though. Happy you are getting school routine down. The back pain study, I could use. However a lot of my pain is in other places.

  3. That’s awesome that you were able to get into a study and that it is helping! I was in a car accident about 2 years ago. My shoulder and back to still give me issues at times. I sure hope my daughter stays in Girls Scouts long enough to start working her Awards. A scholarship to college would be nice. Enjoy your work trip with your friend.

    Have a great week! I enjoyed having coffee with you!

Talk to me...

