If We Were Having Coffee… 2/11/17

21814969688_1b1d6116a5_z

Happy weekend, coffee friends! It has been another week of oscillating weather, like we are on Mother Nature’s giant teeter totter.We had a couple of days below freezing and then today we hit 70 degrees. So this week, we may need a cooler beverage and we can even enjoy it outside.

The big news in my household this week is we have a new family member: Precious. Yes, another cat. Precious is 13 years old and belonged to my husband’s client who passed away last year. Since the death of her owner, Precious has been shuffled around to a couple of homes and none were a good fit. We already have two cats so the quality of our fit is still questionable. We are still in the transition phase so it is too early to tell. We have her in a sanctuary room and we are gradually introducing her. Now we have Gracie the original (almost 5 years old), Charlie the stray we took in last year (10 months old) and Precious the newcomer. With three cats, I think I have officially hit crazy cat lady status. Updates and photos to follow at future coffee dates.

In lesser news, I fell off the Cadbury mini-egg wagon. Not only did I fall, the wagon backed up and ran over me a few times. Not pretty.

I am ecstatic about The Walking Dead returning Sunday night. It is my favorite show and the only show that I have to watch live as it airs rather than watching it days later off the dvr. That also means that The Talking Dead is back which is much needed therapy after watching TWD episode. Also back will be texting with my TWD buddies during commercials.

I realize that it has been a while since I’ve posted anything here but Weekend Coffee Share and I feel like I need to make some changes. I can say I don’t have time but that’s really just an excuse. If I can find time to binge watch Dance Moms then I can find time to write and post. Reassessment, prioritization and organization – those are the key words for this week.

Catch me up. What would you tell me if were were having coffee?

Thanks to Diana at Part-time monster for hosting this weekly coffee chat! Join in by posting your own coffee post with the tag #weekendcoffeeshare and check out the other coffee share participants here.

23 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… 2/11/17

  1. You know, I recently got hooked on Black Mirror on Netflix, but needed to lighten it up. So now, my favorite show on Netflix (I won’t do cable) is Frequency, about a woman cop in 2016 who is able to talk on her ham radio to her dead father in 1996, the past. There was a movie like this, but I don’t care, the suspense and the emotion are carried out with finesse. I recommend it! I am not ready to join the Walking Dead fans yet. I won’t rule it out, though.

  2. I loved walking dead but this season is too brutal for me. I can’t stand watching it anymore. Also I hate that their ‘enemies’ are mostly humans and not zombies anymore.

    1. The focus of the show has definitely changed from the zombie threat to the human threat. Negan is such a good villain but I can’t stand to watch him. I just want to knock that smug smirk off his face every time he’s on screen. The brutality has been harder this season, I agree.

  3. I hope Precious doesn’t have to find another. She must still be grieving for her first owner and to move around like that. Kato wants to play and it still early. He has a couple hours to wait for his walk. Think Positive! Hugs to all.

  4. Yo-yo weather here as well. We’ve got buds popping up here.

    Yay for TWD! I’ve literally never watched it, but do enjoy your and Joanne’s conversations about it lol.

    I guess there are worse wagons to have run you over hahaha!

    1. Worse wagons, indeed. I figure I only get them for a limited time so they can’t be that bad, right? lol.
      I am so excited for TWD. You should watch it so you can join in the conversations!

  5. Fall off the wagon. The world could end due to Lord Cheeto. Enjoy the chocolate while you can! (Only half kidding).

    Dance Moms takes no effort and provides mind-numbing escape. Writing takes work. I struggle with the same dilemma. Hoping the moratorium day(s) each week will help me have enough energy to do it more often.

    Happy week!

    1. That’s true, I should enjoy the chocolate while I can. Life is short, right? I think that is much of my problem – after work and kid activities I have just enough brain power left for Dance moms. For writing… not so much. I hope the moratorium gives you some energy. Have a good week!

  6. Sure hope Precious fits in well. Sounds like a good solid home is needed for the poor dear. Sounds like a lot of moving around.

  7. Omigosh! I am with you on The Walking Dead. My late husband used to watch it with our boys and they bugged and harassed me to watch, so, as AMC loves to do, they replayed seasons 1-3 (that’s how long I resisted) and I binge-watched, becoming as hooked as them. Now it’s just the three of us but we also must watch it “live”. I agree it is more intense now but, as we true fans know, it was never about the zombies and always about humans and their reactions to situations. It kind of makes sense that it is getting ever more difficult between each faction. It represents how countries react together now, doesn’t it? Some are willing to work together while others resist and want to remain on top…
    I definitely hope Precious finds her place within your family, which she will, as you all want to help her.

    1. It is always nice to find another TWD fan! Yes, it has always been about the human experience and how people react to the situation and what they do to survive. I have been trying to get my mom to watch for years and she refuses because she doesn’t like zombies. But it’s about the people! It is pretty representation of counties, I agree. I think it is interesting to see how the breakdown of society affects people. Some are good and some are bad, and sometimes good people do questionable things in order to survive. Love, love, love that show!

      1. I love Talking Dead! I love to hear the actors talk about their characters and sometimes I will learn little things that I may have missed in the episodes (or how something was connected to something in a previous episode or storyline). And it is a very healing experience after a particularly emotional or brutal episode.

  8. The afthead rule is that crazy cat lady status occurs when number of cats >= number of humans. You are a saint for taking in an older animal, not a crazy cat lady yet.

Talk to me...

