If We Were Having Coffee… 3/12/17

natalie-collins-57855

Welcome! Come on in out of the cold. Yes, our erratic weather has struck again. After some very warm spring-like days, we have hit low temperatures yet again (but luckily avoided the snow). Hopefully this will be the last bit of winter. We can enjoy some warm beverages today.

My house is quiet this morning. We have a bonus kid today (older daughter had a sleepover last night) so the kids are occupying each other. They were up quite late last night, though, so I am tired today. Add in daylight saving time (I loathe spring forward!) and it is a recipe for zombie-level fatigue today. The Walking Dead is on tonight so maybe that is perfect.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that it has been an uneventful week. Uneventful is actually good. Work and school made the week pass quickly. There have been two promising changes at work. First, someone has been assigned to help me call out screening results, relieving me of some of my overwhelming workload. Second, we may have an interested candidate for the other counseling position. Yes, the counseling position that we have been recruiting for for a year and a half. I really hope she takes the job because it would help me immensely. Fingers crossed.

If we were having coffee, I would also update you on the Kitty Chronicles. Precious, the new cat, has become quite the lovebug. She is so sweet. The cats are getting along better, there have been fewer scuffles. More and more, they can be near each other with no problems. Things are not perfect, but the house is much more peaceful.

I have also made the decision to try to quit sugar. You give me that look. I know, I understand. My sugar addiction is like a level 100 critical. I am not saying it will be easy. I am going to cut out soda (goodbye daily Mountain Dew) and my beloved high-fructose-corn syrup-laden Hawaiian punch (it deeply pains me to type that). I will drink more water. I will eat better. I went to the store last night and bought fresh fruits and nuts. I will cut out the candy (this may be the hardest part). I will exercise. These healthy changes will hopefully help me to look and feel better.

I wrote a flash fiction piece for Friday Fictioneers! It has been so long since I participated. Please check it out here.

Catch me up. What would you tell me if we were having coffee?

Thanks to Emily at Nerd in the Brain for hosting the Weekend Coffee Share (created by Part-time Monster)! Stop in and have a cup with our other participants at the linkup here.

14 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… 3/12/17

  1. I tried giving up all sugar. That didn’t work. So I gave up soda. That stuck for a long time, then I fell off the wagon, then got back on. I haven’t given up Hawaiian Punch yet, though. Too good! My main goal is just to eat as much non-processed, non-fried, non-fast food as possible. So the occasional Punch is OK, in my book. Good luck, though. It’s hard! And you think you’re a Zombie today…. I felt non-sugary Zombie-like for about a week. Hang in there (in advance!)

    1. Yes, I have heard the sugar hangover can last a week. My goal is to reduce the sugar as much as possible. I know I can’t eliminate it completely and I’m not that brave. I will still have the occasional Hawaiian Punch, it’s just too good to give up cold turkey. Good luck to you, too. Stay on that wagon 🙂

  2. I’m so glad the kitties are getting along better. If you need a clowder let me know. :o) And quitting sugar before Cadbury Mini Egg season? You are a better woman than me. I was shopping the other day and I saw a “TOF…” out of the corner of my eye and my first thought was “TOFFIFEE!!!” and I was already reaching for it before my brain realized that the word wasn’t Toffifee but “TOFURKY”. The disappointment was crushing. However, I’ve been 70 days Toffifee-free. I’ll send you sugar-free thoughts. :o)

  3. Yay so happy the kitties are all starting to coexist better! It certainly makes for a less stressful home life when all the animals are getting along.

    Good luck with the sugar journey! It’s hard, but you can do it. I gave up sodas years ago and am so thankful I did. Hawaiian Punch has never been my thing so I can’t give you any guidance there lol. Just my full support. One day at a time.

    1. Thanks for your support! The Hawaiian punch will be much harder to give up than the soda. High fructose cornsyrup may be trying to kill me but I still love it so. Lol. And my body wants the mini eggs soooo bad. Trying to stay strong!

  4. Yay on the cats getting along.
    Congratulations on wanting to at least reduce your sugar intake. You know, it ain’t easy, that’s for sure… they say sugar addiction is stronger than heroin… so give yourself a chance!!

Talk to me...

