If We Were Having Coffee… 5/7/17

21814969688_1b1d6116a5_z

Welcome! I missed you last week. I’m glad you come make it today. We are finally enjoying some warm, beautiful weather so maybe we could forgo coffee for a cooler drink. It’s a nice day to be outside so maybe we can go out on the deck.

We’ve had some major flooding here and many roads have been closed. Some areas had to evacuate. I even had to stay home from work this past Wednesday because the interstate was closed (and all of the routes around it were closed). It rained for days, I’m so sick of rain. Luckily, we’ve been clear for a couple of days and the rivers have receded a bit. Unfortunately, the flooding caused us to have to cancel our camping trip this weekend. The roads into the property are under water. We are so bummed. We most likely won’t be able to go again with the scout troops until fall.

We were able to do our lock-in last weekend at the Magic House (STL Children’s museum). We took twelve second/third graders. It was a blast, the girls loved it. Other than sleeping on the floor, the moms loved it, too.

Work was super busy this past week and it didn’t help that I missed a day due to flooding. The new counselor starts tomorrow. Light at the end of the tunnel!

The school year is rapidly coming to a close. The girls only have nine and half days left! Both of my daughters have Transition Day tomorrow. That is where they go visit their classrooms for next year and meet their new teachers. I’m also looking forward to the third grade field trip next week to the Science Center/IMAX theater.

My STL Cardinals are on a winning streak and today we swept the Atlanta Braves (after a grueling 14 inning game). We are now tied for second in the NL Central with THE CUBS. That’s right, Cubbies, we’re coming for you!

I participated in Friday Fictioneers this week. Go check out Room 215.

Catch me up! What would you tell me if we were having coffee?

I will leave you with a little glimpse of cat harmony, enjoying today’s lovely weather…

20170507_095432

Thanks to Emily at Nerd in the Brain for hosting the Weekend Coffee Share (created by Part-time Monster)! Stop in and have a cup with our other participants at the linkup here.

6 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… 5/7/17

  1. I wondered if you and your family were impacted by the rain! Sorry to hear that you were. My, your kids get out of school early! We go until the first Friday in June. By the way, do you have a new picture of you on your blog, or am I just unaware? 😀

    1. They do get out early. And even earlier this year because of our mild winter and lack of snow days. We also start in mid-August. I changed the little picture last week, I think. I’m thinking about changing it again.

Talk to me...

