If We Were Having Coffee… Mother’s Day weekend

21814969688_1b1d6116a5_z

Welcome! How amazing is this weather?! Blue skies, upper 70s and a decent breeze. Let’s grab a cool beverage this week and head outside. We need to soak up as much of this meteorological perfection as possible. Did you bring your sunglasses?

Today has been a great day. Let’s count the reasons why…

  1. The perfect weather. Did I mention that already?
  2. I started the day with a run/walk on the treadmill. What’s so great about that? There is nothing like starting your day with an increased heart rate, sweat and endorphins. Even more great, this is the first run I’ve attempted since my back troubles started two years ago. This is huge for me. This means that my back pain has gotten substantially better. It also means I’m not as scared of re-injury. My endurance is at ground zero but I can build it again.
  3. Mayfest is in town. This is the typical small Midwestern town fair with parade, vendors, food, drinks, and rides. I spent the day there with my family in the glorious sun. We shopped the craft fair (we picked up fidget spinners and an STL Cardinals key fob) and then ate lunch. I had a burger, some curly fries, a little bit of funnel cake, and a Strawberry Shake Up. After letting our food digest, we hit the rides. Something about carnival rides transports me back to my youth. We rode the scrambler, Tilt-a-whirl, and the swings.
  4. The St. Louis Cardinals won today…. and not just any win. We beat the Chicago Cubs. Winning is great but winning against the Cubs is exponentially better. We just came off a successful road series and are currently in first place. Who isn’t in first? The Cubs. We’ve had some injuries, yes. We brought up two players from our minor league system and they are on fire… haven’t missed a beat.

I didn’t write anything for Friday Fictioneers this week. I may still, I’m not sure. I’m not feeling the prompt this week. We’ll see. I wish I could say that I made some progress on my WIP this week. My characters are screaming at me, though, so maybe mental progress?

We haven’t made plans yet for Mother’s Day tomorrow. I know it will involve enjoying more of this awesome weather and of course, Cardinals baseball. I’m hoping my boys of summer will pull out another win for all of us moms in Cardinal Nation. Oh yeah… and I will enjoy the day with the (not so) little people that live in my house and call me mom.

To all the mom’s out there, I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day full of love, appreciation, and relaxation.

Catch me up. What would you tell me if we were having coffee?

Thanks to Emily at Nerd in the Brain for hosting the Weekend Coffee Share (created by Part-time Monster)! Stop in and have a cup with our other participants at the linkup here.

19 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… Mother’s Day weekend

  1. If we were having coffee, I would say how wonderful it is to meet you. We would probably go through a list of things that we may have in common, such as your attempt at Fitness to ease your back pain and the fact that we both like to write. 😉

    1. It is nice to meet you! We do have much in common. I do hate to hear about others enduring back pain, though. Have you found ways to ease yours? Mine has mainly been through physical therapy.

  2. I’m glad you are able to run again. I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t run. Sure, starting back at zero endurance, but, as you said, it will grow as you run more. I hope you have a great week!

  3. The cardinals won that is great, the Mariners, UGH! They find new ways to loose. They did managed to even sun and loses this week. I am not too crazy about crowds so I stay away from places, I suspect might that there might be crowds.

  4. Happy Mother’s Day to one of my favorite blog writing, working moms who may be my long lost sister or some other cosmic connection. May your kids spoil you, the weather stay beautiful and you have time to write tomorrow. Also hoping your help at work yields more balance in your life.

  5. I’m glad you’ve got good weather, especially so you can enjoy some baseball! It’s already getting close to the 90’s here, so I don’t go outside as much as I should. Planning some beach time for once the school year is officially over, though. Happy Mother’s Day to you! Thanks for sharing!

  6. I could go for that kind of weather 🙂. We did have that for a few days but then we had rain…Now we’re getting temps in or near the 100s. Monsoon season is just around the corner or us and things are starting to heat up temp-wise.

  7. Sunshine and 70 degrees–sounds like a perfect day! Glad to hear the Cardinals are doing well. My family are Twins fans and, after having the worst season ever last year, we seem to be doing better. It sounds like you had fun at Mayfest. I love small town fairs. Ours isn’t until July, but I look forward to it every year. Happy Mother’s Day! 🙂

    1. Small town fairs are the best. We really had a great time. Glad to hear the Twins are having a better year. We started slow this year but are doing better now.

  8. Glad for your good weather! It’s 6:48pm on Tuesday right now.. I’m catching up on all the cold coffee! Have a great week!

Talk to me...

