Lucky Me

Daily prompt: Luckiest people: Who was the first person you encountered today? Write about him or her.

Maybe it is just me, but I don’t really “get” this prompt. “Encounter” implies a chance or unexpected meeting and I haven’t seen anyone outside of my family today given that I am still on holiday. I tend to avoid going out on Black Friday. And I don’t really understand what any of that has to do with being “lucky.” But it is still November and I don’t have the energy to think of something else to write about so let’s do this.

Encounter of the first kind: my husband came to bed at 6am. He worked all night, pulling a double shift. This wasn’t much of an encounter, I vaguely remember him crawling under the covers beside me. I didn’t sleep well last night (I never do when he’s not home) so I was dead to the world at 6am.

Encounter of the second kind (or kid-kind): I heard little feet come down the hallway and my bedroom door slowly opened. The small one crept around to my side of the bed and started talking to me. The small one talks a lot. Luckily, I let the kids stay up late last night and they didn’t wake me up until about 9:30am (yet one more thing to be thankful for). Once they start coming into the bedroom for me, however, they tend to keep coming until I get up. My day officially began.

Encounter of the third kind: After lunch, I mustered the energy to drag myself to the DMV. I checked the website to make sure that they were open and it appeared that they were. Not that I wanted to visit the seventh circle of hell, but I never can make it there when I am working. I ventured out into the rain to comply with the law and transfer my tags to my new car. I arrived only to find a red piece of paper on the door: closed 11/26 – 11/28 for the Thanksgiving holiday. Encounter averted.

The rest of my day has been gloriously encounter-free. My girls and I played Clue and are now watching The Wizard of Oz. I think that makes me the luckiest person.

 

 

Talk to me...