If We Were Having Coffee… 12/18/16

21814969688_1b1d6116a5_z

Welcome, friend! Hurry on in so I can shut the door. Brrrrrr. With the wind chill it is below zero today so I am so glad you could make it. Let’s get some piping hot drinks, pronto!

Can you believe Christmas is next Sunday?! In just seven short days it will be here. I have so much work to do. My shopping is done but I have some assembly and wrapping to do. I only work four days this week… actually three and a half. I am leaving early one day for a dentist appointment. I am off work Wednesday for my younger daughter’s school holiday program. This is a big event every year. It is a big musical and the kids dress up as various characters and they get so excited about it.

What are your plans for Christmas? Are you traveling or staying home? Will it be a small or large gathering? We will be staying home and it will just be our immediate family. Whatever your plans, I hope you have a wonderful holiday full of love from family and friends.

Even more surprising than the proximity of Christmas is the fact that two weeks from now will be the dawn of 2017. How can that be possible? I’ve never been one for resolutions but I feel like I would like to set some goals for 2017. I want to set more of a writing schedule. I would like to get back to bullet journaling. I would like to be more mindful and present in my parenting. I will have to think about this during the next two weeks.

If we were having coffee, we would surely talk about Friday’s ice storm. Friday afternoon an unexpected band of freezing rain came through and turned every surface in the region to solid ice. It paralyzed travel. I left work at 3:30pm and didn’t get home until about 1am… but I spent 5 hours at a McDonald’s after I decided to pull over and wait out the conditions. It probably sounds like a miserable night but I wrote about it here and it turned out to not be the worst thing ever.

Catch me up. What would you tell me if we were having coffee?

Have a wonderful week, everyone! Until our next coffee date.

Thanks to Diana at Part-time monster for hosting this weekly coffee chat! Join in by posting your own coffee post with the tag #weekendcoffee share and/or adding your link to the linkup here.

17 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee… 12/18/16

  1. We had snow, but not that much ice. I hate ice storms! Glad you finally got home safe. I’m in denial about how fast this year has gone as well. I set goals, too, and I hope to write more in 2017. Hope you get to do that, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. happy holidays… I never make resolutions so much pressure hahahaha
    Not sure what pplans will be having for Christmas but what ever happens it will be with friends and family maybe Christmas dinner …thanks for the chat
    ~B

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Part of me remembers that snow and ice can be a pain, but with the ridiculously mild, damp winter we’ve had so far I’d love to have a proper cold snap just to crisp things off.
    Maybe not an ice storm though. That sounds terrifying. [But beautiful.]

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Another reason I’m glad I live in Colorado. It’s cold her too, but while we get snow and blizzards, we do not get ice storms. My first one I encountered as an adult was terrifying. Of course the most memorable one was over the holidays driving to Texas when our family encountered a Mother’s Cookie truck turned over on the road and cookies everywhere. I’m still angry at my parents for not stopping! So many cookies. I’ll have to read your post about the horrible commute.

    I’m with you on Christmas. Shopping done, wrapping in process (grateful for the subzero weather keeping me in yesterday) but still not quite feeling ready to celebrate in 6 days. We do Christmas Eve with my in-laws, Christmas morning with our 3 person family, and Christmas afternoon with my family. By Christmas night we are zonked. I hope your family has a wonderful celebration.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no, how could they not stop for the cookies?! I used to live in Cleveland and we had lake effect snow all winter long. It was nothing compared to the ice. I would take feet of snow over a fraction of an inch of ice. Christmas sounds busy for you but awesome in that it is full of family time. Have a blessed holiday!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I think I would not mind waiting out the storm at McDonald’s. At least it would be warm and as long as I had a phone or tablet and my charger, I’d be fine. All our McDonald’s around here have free wi-fi so I would be fine!

    Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Shopping done. Wrapping done. Now we just wait for Christmas day! I do love our little Christmas. German apple pancakes for breakfast, presents, spend the morning relaxing before heading over to spend the afternoon with family. A very happy day indeed.

    All very sound goals for the new year. I, amazingly, am still using my bullet journal. It’s pared down to the simplest of forms, all the excitement of the start of the project has long passed.

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...